Emo Bosco

Bosco’s in love. His problem is that he’s in love with two different women.

I had to go to Maryland last week, so Bosco had to go to camp. He has training sessions with Robyn, and her dog Bella chips in to help him understand what he’s supposed to do.

Image

And so it begins….. True love. At least on his part. Perhaps Bella’s used to her students going head over heels for her. She certainly doesn’t seem all that into Bosco.

Which might explain why he also had grand feelings for the dog in the hotel room next to him. I don’t have much info on that. Except she’s a blonde. Gentlemen don’t kiss and tell.

I’m making light of something that’s pretty neat. Bosco is freely expressing his emotions..

This morning I woke up to Bosco poking at me. I figured he needed to start his normal morning routine, so I stumbled down the steps and let him out the back door. That wasn’t what he wanted, so we came inside and I gave him breakfast. He wasn’t in the mood for that either. I sat down on the sofa, figuring that eventually he’d communicate what was on his mind.

It didn’t take long for it to be crystal clear. He flung himself up on the sofa and sprawled across my lap. He needed cuddling.

In case you’ve been wondering, Bosco hates hates hates snow. He has been struggling to keep up his end of the backyard agreement, because his spots are covered and the terrain is constantly changing. Even taking him for a walk doesn’t help, because there are snowbanks in the place he wants to use. I did have to laugh yesterday – he decided the solution was to stand on his hind legs, put his front paws on the top of the snowbank, and let it fly like a man. And when I laughed, his big eyes were very expressive. They said “I’d like to see you try this.”

With the massive amounts of snowfall, the city asked us to get cars off the street. I parked in a large deck several blocks away. I doubt anyone in the world says “oh, I feel so safe and comfortable in a parking deck.” So I made Bosco come with me. I felt safe and comfortable in a parking deck. My apologies to those we encountered as we walked home and back again. The sidewalks were narrow, Bosco’s toes were cold, and he had the grumpiest expression on his face. Many people decided to dive into snowbanks to avoid us. Oops.

Image

He’s doing something new and adorable – presenting me with toys. It started last week when I thought he’d like playing a searching game with a hidden toy. I was wrong – he didn’t like it at all, and spent the next hour wandering around the house looking for a spot to hide it from me. Then he’d put the toy on my lap. Then he’d remember that I was the one who’d hidden it in the first place, take it back, and wander about some more. Repeat repeat repeat. Yesterday morning I was given a toy – a nice soft tiger – without any provocation on my part. I had no clue what he wanted me to do with it. I petted it and praised Bosco for having such a nice tiger, and thanked him for sharing it. He wanted me to do something else. So I tossed it gently in the air, with a big “wheeeee!” a couple of times.

My tiger privileges have been revoked.

Leave a Reply

